No *Wonder* I’m Homeless (.co.il…)

Well, it’s that time again. I’m moving up and moving on, and hopefully moving to a new apartment with no roomates for the first time since making Aliyah.

Thus the dreaded search begins. Now, apartment hunting around here is somewhat different than what I was always used to back in the US and A; it’s a seller’s market and that’s obvious. Plus, landlords balk at ever putting a penny into improving a rented apartment because, well, they don’t have to. So I’m looking for something new, or otherwise renovated, and pickings are slim. E.g., I saw a brand new apartment for $860/mo (!) in which I had the following conversation:

Jook: “But what if I want a stove?”

Realtor: “You can’t do that. There’s no room. Or a stove or a refrigerator.”

Jook: “So…what if I want to cook?”

Realtor: “What do you need a stove for? Order out!”

*Sigh.* It goes on like this…but I’ll wrap this up. Couple things I noticed while hunting today that I found captivatingly Israeli:

  1. The spin people try to put on their crappy apartment’s shortcomings when describing them: “Apartment with style! Painted floor!” ($925/mo)
  2. The very fact that hardly anybody sees the need to post pictures of their apartments, even in this day of ubiquitous cell phone cameras. And here’s an example of someone who actually did post a pic.
4 Responses to No *Wonder* I’m Homeless (.co.il…)

  1. Jon Aizen says:

    I have a friend who is looking to sublet her awesome apartment for a few months. If you’re interested, I’ll connect you.

  2. daniel says:

    looking for apt too.
    pref Jerusalem
    am Israeli that speaks fluent english
    interested, then contact me
    daniel

  3. […] Should Just Go F*ck Myself… Still looking for an apartment.  Yes, since the last post about that I sorta gave up temporarily as I was super-busy and really had no patience for the whole […]

  4. michele says:

    Well I am not surprise. In France it’s the same. Sellers in any field are kings. I think that is the society of old countries. I lived in America for 20 years, and it’s true that in America, the client is king. But, this is the only country in the world that has respect for its customers. Don’t expect that neither with european or midle eastern.

    I am a Jew too, and I am trying to come to ISRAEL and live there. But the prices they force you to pay for a studio is outrageous. Don’t tell me israelis make enough money to pay this kind of rent ! So, unless they live at 4 or 5 in the same small apartment, there is no way they can afford it. So Israel, instead of becoming the state for the diaspora, is becoming a state for foreigners and people with money who have nothing to do with israel reason for being here in the first place. I am discutted.

Leave a Reply

