The Israeli Workplace

So, I think the time has come to highlight what I like to call “Zabaj in the Workplace.”

In Israel, and especially the industry in Israel in which the Jook makes his current living, age and seniority are placed above above talent and personal dedication in most situations. This often means “let’s take advantage of the Americaki kid at the end of the hall.”

I’ve been hemming and hawing for quite some time now about the boxes, trash, and paper-to-be-shredded for which my office has served as a dumping ground. After several months of complaints, this has really only gotten worse and there’s new crap almost every day.

To make a point, I don’t touch any of it, and I let it build up as much as possible. YES, I *COULD* throw some of this sh*t away myself but that’s not the point.

Enjoy the attached exhibits, and if you have any questions, I’ll just go f*ck myself.

myoffice1.jpgmyoffice2.jpg myoffice3.jpg

8 Responses to The Israeli Workplace

  1. Jacob says:

    Is that a Swingline stapler I see there? At least they didn’t take that from you!

  2. Kibalti Fak says:

    You’re lucky they didn’t have you working out of the bomb shelter

  3. Eli says:

    I will take the pink umbrella

  4. thejook says:

    You got it, Eli.

  5. AlmondDread says:

    At various companies I’ve worked at we have made office space out of a closet, bomb shelter, hallway and former kitchen.

  6. At least you have a job.

  7. thejook says:

    2 of ’em at the moment.

  8. Davida says:

    Yeah, the whole “age over talent” thing is one of my least favorite Israelisms. I do the same job as my co-worker, in half the time, and for 1,000 shek less a month. She has to work two hours of overtime a day to do what I squeeze in between zabaj readings, which means she gets doubly compensated for her inefficiency. But hey, at least she’s old.

Leave a Reply

