English-isms

Speaking of funny translations of English phrases into Hebrew…

What about the time my roommate told me not to “Le’zag’zeg” in the traffic?
And what about the commercial I just heard where the guy said “Ani lo mevin klum…tess-em-ess li” (literally “I don’t understand anything…send me an SMS).

Keeps me on my toes.

5 Responses to English-isms

  1. Ethan says:

    I’m sure that would have been Te-Sa-Mess Li… Like many nouns, this turned into a verb as well. And I don’t think it’s any different that “text me” or “email me”. So the only possible issue could be with the fact that the Hebrew word for SMS – Misron (literally: little message), is not commonly used.

  2. eliesheva says:

    by the way, we must not forget to l’hadnees.

  3. NG says:

    I think I once heard “emiliar” used as a verb in Spanish.

  4. Nili says:

    Also a winner is the new slang l’condel meaning to do nothing and derived from Condoleeza Rice. I wish I could make this stuff up!

  5. Julio Gesklin says:

    Hatima Tova translate to what in English?

Leave a Reply

